Important Links

Archdioceses and Dioceses in California

Archdiocese of Los Angeles:
Archbishop José Gomez

Archdiocese of San Francisco:
Archbishop Salvatore Cordileone

Diocese of Fresno:
Bishop Armando X. Ochoa

Diocese of Monterey:
Bishop Richard Garcia

Diocese of Oakland:
Bishop Michael Barber

Diocese of Orange:
Bishop Kevin W. Vann

Diocese of Sacramento:
Bishop Jaime Soto

Diocese of San Bernardino:
Bishop Gerald Barnes

Diocese of San Diego:
Bishop Cirilo Flores

Diocese of San Jose:
Bishop Patrick McGrath

Diocese of Santa Rosa:
Bishop Robert Vasa

Diocese of Stockton:
Bishop Stephen Blaire 


California Missions

California has 21 historic Missions located in eight of the 10 Dioceses and two Archdioceses of California.  They line the coastal route of the Royal Road – El Camino Real – from San Diego to Sonoma.  Franciscan Father Blessed Junipero Serra established the trail in 1769 when he founded the first church in California.  There are 6 missions in the Archdiocese of Los Angeles.

1769 – San Diego de Alcala, San Diego, San Diego Diocese
1770 – San Carlos Borromeo, Carmel, Monterey Diocese
1771 – San Antonio de Padua, Jolon, Monterey Diocese
1771 – San Gabriel Arcangel, San Gabriel, Los Angeles Archdiocese
1772 – San Luis, Obispo de Tolosa, San Luis Obispo, Monterey Diocese
1776 – San Francisco de Asisi (dolores), San Francisco, San Francisco Archdiocese
1776 – San Juan Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, Orange Diocese
1777 – Santa Clara de Asis, Santa Clara, San Jose Diocese
1782 – San Buenaventura, Ventura, Los Angeles Archdiocese
1786 – Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, Los Angeles Archdiocese
1787 – La Purisima Concepcion, Lompoc, Los Angeles Archdicoese
1791 – Santa Cruz, Santa cruz, Monterey Diocese
1791 – Nuestra Señora de la Soledad, Soledad, Monterey Diocese
1797 – San José de Guadalupe, Fremont, Oakland Diocese
1797 – San Juan Bautista, San Juan Bautista, Monterey Diocese
1797 – San Miguel Arcangel, San Miguel, Monterey Diocese
1798 – San Fernando, Rey de España, Mission Hills, Los Angeles Archdiocese
1798 – San Luis, Rey de Francia, Oceanside, San Diego Diocese
1804 – Santa Inés, Solvang, Los Angeles Archdiocese
1817 — San Rafael Arcangel, San Rafael, San Francisco Archdiocese
1823 – San Francisco de Solano, Sonoma, Santa Rosa Diocese


United States conference of Catholic Bishops

California Catholic Conference

Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angeles

Resources for Faithful Citizenship